• My Ramblings

Thankful Thursday

I know.

I keep switching it up with how I’m doing Thankful Thursdays.  Oh well.  Just consider it me keeping you on your toes.

Today I decided to post a picture to illustrate something I’m thankful for.

As much as I might sometimes detest California, I’m thankful for the ability to drive about an hour and be able to see beauty like this.

This little place is one that I used to go with my grammie, cousins, mom, brother, sister and everyone when I was younger.  We’d play in the waves, search the tidepools for hermit crabs, play with kelp that washed up on shore, build sand castles…

When I had kids, I knew this was one place I couldn’t wait to take my boys to.  Since it had been years since I’d been here, I was almost a little afraid before we got here- wondering if it would be a disappointment- but it was great.

My boys did the same things I did when I was younger, and it was a little nostalgic watching them do it all.

Sure, it wasn’t exactly a cheap trip -the funny thing about “short trips” is that you still have to pay for gas and everything you’ll need once you get to point B- but it was completely worth it.

So, I’m thankful.  I’m thankful for the ability to make these memories with my kids.

And, hopefully, one day, when they’re older and have kids of their own, they’ll feel the pull of this place and they’ll tell their kids about all their wonderful memories, and they’ll want to bring their  kids here.

And maybe, if they’re lucky, they’ll be able to sneak a sea shell home in THEIR bag so they can tell THEIR kids,”I brought some of the ocean home- wanna hear?”

4 Responses

  1. Lovely post!

  2. Wonderful! I cherish some special places like that as well and can’t wait to share them with my son when he is old enough.

Leave a Reply

