• My Ramblings

Friday’s Writing Prompt: Well, I never!

Never

I’ve never roped a Brahma bull,
I’ve never fought a duel,
I’ve never crossed the desert
On a lop-eared, swayback mule,
I’ve never climbed an idol’s nose
To steal a cursed jewel.

I’ve never gone down with my ship
Into the bubblin’ brine,
I’ve never saved a lion’s life
And then had him save mine,
Or screamed Ahoooo while swingin’ through
The jungle on a vine.

I’ve never dealt draw poker,
In a rowdy lumber camp,
Or got up at the count of nine
To beat the world’s champ,
I’ve never had my picture on
A six-cent postage stamp

I’ve never scored a touchdown
On a ninety-nine-yard run,
I’ve never winged six Daltons
With my dying brother’s gun
Or kissed Miz Jane, and rode my hoss
Into the setting sun.
Sometimes I get so depressed
‘bout what I haven’t done.
–Shel Silverstein
Mama’s Losin’ It
List 22 things you’ve never done.

That’s one of my favorite poems by one of my favorite authors.  This week’s ‘Mama Kat Mission’ was to write about 22 things I haven’t done, and while it may be a tad depressing, I think I’ll use this more as a bucket list rather than a list of regrets… well, with the exception of a few of the ones on my list.  What can I say?  I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t get a bit silly.

So here it is- I’m 31 years old and I’ve never:

1. Gone to a cooking school.
2. Visited another country.
3. Written a book.
4. Ridden in a hot air balloon.
5. Taught a chicken to ride a skateboard.

6. Gone a day without hearing the word “poop” from my boys.
7. Made ice cream from scratch.
8. Gone scuba diving.
9. Been to jail.

10. Kept a plant alive for very long.

11. Been rich.

12. Eaten sushi (other than California rolls).
13. Jumped in a big pile of leaves.
14. Gotten a tattoo.

15. Gotten a ticket.(I’m probably jinxing myself right here.)
16. Gone sky diving.
17. ACTUALLY used duct tape on my kids.

18. Eaten liver.
19. Built a snowman.
20. Driven a real race car.
21. Run a marathon.
22. Thus far, tried to sell my kids on eBay.

3 Responses

  1. LOL – I love your list! And the poem – I love Shel too 🙂

    I’ve never taught a chicken to ride a skateboard either, though I don’t know how to ride a skateboard…

    So happy to have discovered you too!

    • If you ever DO learn to teach a chicken to ride a skateboard, could you let me know how you did it? Because, I’m thinking that might be harder than teaching boys how to listen, so if there’s a way to do the seemingly impossible, maybe there’ll be hope for my boys.

  2. Awesome! So glad you haven’t tried to sell your kids on eBay, that could lead you to going to jail (two off your list!!)

    I’m 31 also (can’t believe time has gone by so fast) and haven’t really thought about a Bucket List (Like you I don’t like a regret list), but your post has made me think of a few things I would like to put on my list, whether it’s things I would like to do or things I am glad I have never done (like going to jail).

    1) Travel to Europe
    2) Bake a cake from scratch
    3) Re varnish my cabinets (that ones not fun, but it really needs to be done)
    4) Got my book published!!!

    and so on…

Leave a Reply

