• My Ramblings

Saturday Shout-Out: Wisdom of a Fool!

I wanted to use my Saturday posts to highlight some great bloggers out there. This week’s feature blogger is wonderful and I hope you love her as much as I do. If you’d like me to highlight you, just send me an email:


Photobucket

Saturday Shout-Out

~Your name:  TC Avey

~Your blog’s name w/ link: “Wisdom of a Fool” tcavey.blogspot.com

~Type of blog it is:

Life in General:  Wisdom of a Fool focuses on issues many of us face on a daily basis from a Christian perspective.  It covers topics in the news including politics and current events as well as inspirational stories of forgotten heroes in our history.  Many posts focus on what God is doing in my own life, what I am learning in my walk with Christ and what I am struggling with.  I attempt to educate/enlighten others in my endeavor to educate myself.  I encourage respectful communication as we all strive to learn more about our world and our role in it.

~Tell us a little something about yourself:  I am a Christian wife and mother of one precious little boy (but don’t we all think our children are precious, I hope so).  I love politics and history though I will admit I am not an expert on either, just a passionate observer.  I love to read pretty much anything and everything.  I enjoy traveling but don’t get to do it nearly as often as I would like.  I am obsessive about having a clean house which is something my son is teaching me to let go of and I will admit, I am struggling.

I am also undertaking breaking into the writing field.  I have completed a young adult fiction and am seeking representation.  I know it is a long road to getting published, but I am in no hurry.  I trust God that everything will happen according to HIS plan.

~If you had only 1 wish, what would it be and why?  This is a difficult one…One wish uh?  I guess if I had to pick just one it would be for those I love to find the true meaning of happiness and joy in life.  Neither can be obtained through material goods, status or any other thing society deems as necessary to being successful.  True happiness and joy comes from being content with what God has given and trusting that God is in control.

On a more selfish level, I wish my house would stay miraculously clean ALL the time!!!  That would free up so much of my time, I wouldn’t know what to do with myself, but I sure would love to find out!

~What’s your favorite thing about where you live and why?  On a broad scale, I live in America, a nation of freedom.  I am free to do, go, be and say whatever I please so long as it doesn’t infringe upon another’s ability to do the same.  That is amazing!  On a smaller scale, I live in a community that overall is Christian in nature, where neighbor helps neighbor and our streets are relatively safe for children to play.  With the downturn of the economy my small community is struggling but thriving and I am thankful.

~What’s #1 on your ‘Bucket List’? To see the world!  There are so many wonderful places I want to visit; there is no way to pick just one!

~3 words to describe yourself would be…? Organized, Loyal, Compassionate (Obviously Christian)

~1 little known fact about you is…? I hate folding and putting away laundry.  It’s one of the easiest tasks of housekeeping, yet I struggle doing it each and every time.

~1 vice of yours is…? I tend to be a perfectionist and that can lead me to being critical of myself and sometimes of others though I am more forgiving of others shortcomings than I am of my own.  I put a great deal of pressure on myself when really there is no reason to.  This is something God is working on in my life and my son is helping me along.

~Why did you start blogging?  I started this blog after realizing how many people in my own life do not know or care about what is occurring in our world and/or do not have daily Bible devotional times.  I feel that as responsible Christians we should not only know what the Word of God says, but also know what is transpiring around the globe.  We might not have time to have a long Bible study or to watch all the news, but there are certain things we do need to be aware of.  I am not a Bible expert nor am I a journalist and I don’t endeavor to try to be either.  I simply share things God places on my heart whether it is news related, inspirational or religious in nature.

~What’s your favorite thing about blogging?  I’m enjoying getting to meet new people.  When I look at my blog stats, I can’t believe people from all over the world have logged on and viewed!  I’m pretty sure some of them did it completely on accident, but I’m still encourage with each new visit, each new comment and especially with each new follower.

~What do you think makes for a successful blog? Being open and honest.  This can be scary.  I have opened up my heart about my father passing away and the grief I have walked through.  In the future I know there will be many more things God leads me to share that will make me uncomfortable.  For me, good blogging is about pushing my comfort as God directs in order for Him to use me to touch someone else’s life.  After all, what’s the purpose of learning if not to share?

~3 words to describe your blog would be…? Inspiring, Enlightening, Assertive (Obviously from a Christian standpoint)

~What’s 1 blog (besides yours) that you think everyone should check out? Oh my, I’ve found so many wonderful blogs lately, this one included.  Currently I am really enjoying a series Titled: “31 Days of Letting Go” by Flower Patch Farm Girl at http://flowerpatchfarmgirl.blogspot.com/

2 Responses

  1. Thank you so much for the opportunity to be a part of your blog! Filling out the questions were so much fun, you’re awesome!!

Leave a Reply

