• My Ramblings

Saturday Shout-Out: Hoo Goes Where

I wanted to use my Saturday posts to highlight some great bloggers out there. This week’s feature blogger is wonderful and I hope you love her as much as I do. If you’d like me to highlight you, just send me an email:


Photobucket

Saturday Shout-Out

~Your name: I answer to several, but you can call me Janie.

~Your blog’s name w/ link: Hoo Goes Where  http://hoogoeswhere.blogspot.com

~Type of blog it is: Life in general  (If you don’t fit in anywhere else, you’ll probably fit in here.)

~Tell us a little something about yourself: Foremost, I’m a mum, wife, and domestic engineer. Professionally, I am a physical therapist who went on to become a medical doctor and later specialized in pediatrics. I went on hiatus several months after I gave birth. I’ve recently gone back to work, albeit part-time. Part-time work arrangements are heaven sent!

~If you had only 1 wish, what would it be and why?Difficult to choose just one. Hmmm. I’d wish for my daughter and future children to grow up to be responsible and God-fearing members of the society.

~What’s your favorite thing about where you live and why? We live in the tropical city state of Singapore. Everything here works. We have a very effective and efficient government. I also love the cultural diversity that Singapore has to offer.

~What’s #1 on your ‘Bucket List’? Surprise! I don’t do bucket lists. I have long term and short term goals though.  Does this make me sound like a very serious person? I tell you, I am not.

~3 words to describe yourself would be…? Impressionable. Straightforward. Emotional.

~1 little known fact about you is…? I spend so much time on my hair. Wash, blow dry, iron. Only to tie it in a pony at the
last minute. There goes the effort!  Oh and I cry at the movies too!

~1 vice of yours is…? Salted potato chips and all sorts of junk food. Except chocolates. Nom. Nom.

~Why did you start blogging? I started blogging in 2008. My blog was a personal journal of sorts. Most of my old posts are still unpublished. Then motherhood happened. I began to take up blogging again in March of this year after we’d gone traveling abroad. I was feeling trapped and lonesome as a newly minted SAHM. And, there was this overwhelming need to reach out to fellow mums and interact with them. Blogging has done that for me.

~What’s your favorite thing about blogging? The sense of belongingness that it gives me. And the opportunity to cultivate friendships. I have recently gone on play dates with fellow mummies here. We all “met “ via twitter!

~What do you think makes for a successful blog? I am no blog guru. But I believe that being honest and true to your beliefs and values is essential. Just keep it real.

~3 words to describe your blog would be…? I don’t really have 3 words to describe my blog. How about I let you describe it for me? =)

~What’s 1 blog (besides yours) that you think everyone should check out? There are a lot of wonderful blogs out there. Since I am only allowed one, I’d like you all to check out Germaine’s Blog: http://kiddothings.blogspot.com/. She’s one of the few online friends who’s very encouraging and supportive. I hope to meet her in real life someday.

4 Responses

  1. I always enjoy your Saturday shout outs! What a great interview! I love the questions you ask! I have read and enjoyed Hoo Goes Where, what fun to learn more about this great lady! Thanks! Happy Saturday!

  2. I’m a fan of Hoo Goes Where and really enjoyed learning more about her!

  3. This was so nice to read. Some really great questions! It really would be nice to meet all of these great blogging ladies in person some day:)

    Coming from getting to know you hop:)
    Courtney

  4. Hi Amber! Thanks for featuring me in your shout out! Didn’t realize it came out already. My bad!

Leave a Reply

